Review | Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw

61zc8IRjtaL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw
Published by Razorbill on April 19, 2016
Genres: Social & Family Issues, Humor, Being a Teen, Contemporary, Fiction
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought at Barnes & Noble
Buy it: Amazon // Book Depository // Barnes & Noble
My Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5


 

// SYNOPSIS //

Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online community of fanfiction writers, world-class nobody at Melville High. Her best (read: only) IRL friends are Avery, a painfully shy and annoyingly attractive bookworm, and Ruth, her pot-smoking, possibly insane seventy-three-year-old neighbor.

When Scarlett’s beloved TV show is canceled and her longtime crush, Gideon, is sucked out of her orbit and into the dark and distant world of Populars, Scarlett turns to the fanfic message boards for comfort. This time, though, her subjects aren’t the swoon-worthy stars of her fave series—they’re the real-life kids from her high school. Scarlett never considers what might happen if they were to find out what she truly thinks about them…until a dramatic series of events exposes a very different reality than Scarlett’s stories, forever transforming her approach to relationships—both online and off.


// MY THOUGHTS //

Two reviews in one day! :O Oh my goodness, its gonna snow! Okay, I’m being a bit dramatic 😉 I read this book about two weeks ago and I’m finally able to get you all my thoughts and feelings on it!

 

So I had seen this book online advertised and loved the cover because IT’S BEAUTIFUL, I mean just take a minute to marvel at the cover! So pretty! But I read the summary and was instantly interested in reading this because it deals with fanfiction, which I love to read and write myself. I had seen this on the shelf in Barnes and Noble right after I saw it advertised online. I think it was on the Penguin Books facebook page, but anyway and decided to buy a different book that day. (I know, I know, dumb move.) I got home and saw this online AGAIN and remembered I wanted it so I asked (made 😉 my dad to take me back to BN the next day to pick up a copy. lol.

From the first page I fell in love with this book. It is definitely my favorite book of 2016 so far! Scarlett Epstein is your typical shy high school  girl just trying to survive until graduation. She doesn’t have a lot of friends IRL so she turns to her online community of fanfic writer friends who all obsess over Lycanthrope High (think MTV’s Teen Wolf) to help her get through her day to day! But when Scarlett’s beloved show is canceled things take a very different turn! Not wanting to lose her online friends Scarlett decides to thrust real life characters into her fanfiction writing!

Anna Breslaw is a freaking amazing writer! She basically pulled Scarlett’s thoughts and feelings right out of my mind. I connected with Scarlett instantly and fell in love with her because she was so real and so much like a normal fangirl! FANGIRLS UNITE! This story was freaking hilarious! I’m not typically one to cry or laugh out loud while reading, but I laughed my ass off reading this book. I loved reading from Scarlett’s POV as well as her fanfiction story embedded into the story as well. Can we get an Ordanaria book please???

I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone look for a hilarious realistic take on what it’s like to be a true fangirl!

 

Leave a Reply

