Review | Everyday Magic by Emily Albright

Everyday Magic b51xhn8x-dzl-_sx324_bo1204203200_y Emily Albright
Published by Simon Pulse on December 2, 2016
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Performing Arts, Film, Fiction
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Source: Sent to me for review from Merit Press
Buy it: Amazon // Book Depository // Barnes & Noble
My Rating: ★★★★ 4/5


 

// SYNOPSIS //

From the critically acclaimed author of The Heir and the Spare comes another enchanting tale of love and fame set in England, among the privileges and pressures of the red-carpet life. Maggie’s dad is a Hollywood director, and he has her whole life planned: Not only will she grow up to be an entertainment lawyer and work for him, he literally blackmails her to date the boy who’s starring in his new movie. But Maggie loves Preston, the British boy who stole her heart, and despite the risk that her dad will make her mother miserable if she doesn’t give in, Maggie decides to go for it, designing a red-carpet gown for a young duchess that puts her and the duchess in the limelight. Once there, she turns to Preston and issues a challenge: Can a girl who has given up the glamorous life any other girl would want…be the girl for him?


// MY THOUGHTS //

Two reviews and a cover reveal in one day from me, it’s going to snow! Okay, maybe it won’t snow, but with how cold it is here you’d think it could snow if it wanted to! Everyday Magic was sent to me by Merit Press in exchange for an honest review! Thanks Merit Press! 🙂 I really enjoyed reading her other novel The Heir and The Spare a few months back, so I was thrilled when I received a copy of her next book!

This book was released on December 2, 2016!

 

Since this book doesn’t release until December 2, 2016, I’m going to do my best to keep it spoiler free! Like I mentioned above, I loved Emily Albright’s first novel The Heir and The Spare and her second book was just as good, if not better in my opinion! I actually believe this book is the sequel to her first book!

The story follows Maggie, the high profile daughter of Hollywood movie director Scott Mckendrick. Maggie’s dream is to become a fashion designer success much to her controlling fathers dismay. She also has her sights set on a incredibly adorable Brit named Preston.

I’ve got a thing for British boys, what can I say! Preston was totally swoon worthy with his dimples and witty dialouge. I don’t blame Maggie for falling for the guy. If only it were as simple as boy meets girl, and they fall in love and live happily ever after! Maggie’s controlling father has a hand in everything his daughter does, and if it’s not up to his standards than there will be hell to pay.

I hated Maggie’s dad. Simple as that.

I loved how Maggie chased after her dreams and stood up for herself when it came down to it in the end. Strong female characters are far and few between, and while there were a few moment’s I’d wished Maggie would have spoke up for herself, I believe she was still a strong character.

England. Hunky Brits. Fashion. Drama. Romance. This book has it all!

Leave a Reply

